What I learned at The Romance Convention 2012 #sirenauthor

I just returned from Siren’s The Romance Convention in Dallas.  It was an amazing time.  I met so many wonderful people and definitely learned a thing or two.  Many thanks to all the readers that volunteered to answer our questions.  I thought I might share a few:

  • Readers want your website up to date.  Nothing frustrates them more to visit your site and its woefully out of date.  Keep it current.
  • Readers don’t like whiny heroines. ‘Nuff said.
  • If they like your book, chances are they’ll buy the others, too.  <Thank you, thank you!>
  • Don’t use purple prose.
  • Writers want to “Pay it forward”.  They’re generous with their advice.
  • Behind many successful writers is an understanding and supportive significant other/best friend.
  • Writers are incredibly hard working.  Okay, I already knew this one, but talking to these women (and men!) really brought this home to me.  Many of these people write fifteen hours a day or more trying to get down on paper what the voices inside their heads are saying.

So my Siren sisters… what did you learn?

2 thoughts on “What I learned at The Romance Convention 2012 #sirenauthor

  1. I can’t tell you how impressed I was with the authors. They are all so nice and welcoming and the readers who came were wonderful. I’m glad they like menages, as that’s what I write. Being in a room with such high achievers humbled me. Being able to put a face and a personality to the books made it that much sweeter. I’ll be visiting San Antonio next year, NYC the year after that, and the Las Vegas!!!

Leave a Reply

