Welcome Siren Author Of The Week – Melody Snow Monroe! #sirenauthor #menage

We’re sipping Cosmos and nibbling on Godiva’s today as Melody Snow Monroe chats about her newest release Tattoos and Transformations.  I just finished reading it and I just loved her heroine Dakota.

This is part of a series. Are they any special challenges when writing for a series?

I think the biggest challenge is keeping track of the timeline. I have to make sure that if a character gets married in June that they don’t have a baby that August. I have to also pay attention to how old the baby would be as the months change.

Tell us about your latest book?

TATTOOS AND TRANSFORMATIONS is Dakota Smith’s character. She was Jade Callen’s best friend from the previous book, LOVE OF STEEL. Dakota’s father trained both women to work with iron, but only Jade made a profession out of it. We know that her father was disappointed, but throughout it all, Dakota was always supportive of Jade and never jealous. I really liked her so much that I had to give her her own story.

Plotter or Pantser?

I used to be a little of both, but since I have such a short turn around time, I have to plot. I come up with a societal issue, which makes the heroine have to adopt some kind of emotional shield. The story plot sometimes confirms that her beliefs about this problem are true and at other times it proves that her beliefs need to change. In the end, love prevails and she changes.

What makes a great hero?

A great hero is compassionate but strong. He always wants what is best for the heroine, and his need to protect is sometimes overwhelming. Basically, he is just like my husband.

Do you have anything in common with your characters?

Too much so. All of my women are rather strong-willed, and it is their ambition that sometimes causes them problems.

 

Do you believe in love at first sight?

That is funny as I was just talking about this with hubby. I always used to roll my eyes when the heroine went into instant lust. Then I said, “You know we fell in love at first sight.” Our courtship was super short before we decided we were totally right for each other. Now, I’m a believer.

Have there been any real-life love stories that have inspired you?

Besides my own? All the time. No names will be mentioned, but I am constantly amazed at the generosity and love shown by others.

Do you have any advice for aspiring writers trying to get published?

Study the market place to see what sells, learn your craft, develop a thick skin, and write, write, write.

What is the hardest thing about being a writer?

My butt gets sore from sitting all day. I really don’t think it’s lonely, probably because I’m always on facebook talking to other authors. My husband is amazingly supportive. He even shops so I can have time to write, and fixes his own meals.

What are you currently working on?

After TATTOOS AND TRANSFORMATIONS, I went back to Pleasure, Montana to do Robin’s story (Bella’s best friend from Miami.) I then shifted (no pun intended) gears and wrote 4 shifter books that are so exciting to me(first one comes out Sept. 17th). I’m currently working on a different shifter series that will be a little bit shorter. I’ll alternate between the High-Country Shifter series and the current, Panther Cover series. I never knew making up my own world could be so much fun!

What do you do when you’re not writing?

Ah, ah, ah. When am I not writing? Okay, I do teach Pilates, walk and work out(to get rid of the sore butt). I love photography, going on date night with my hero, and reading.

How can you fans find you on the net?

Go to either www.melodymonroe.com for my website or to http://www.bookstrand.com/melody-snow-monroe, which is my Siren website.

 

And thank you, Lara Valentine for having me!!

 

Leave a Reply

