On writing and getting older #sirenauthor

I’m getting older.  Okay, I don’t have one foot on a banana peel and another in the grave, but I’m not consider “young” anymore.  My day job has a “Young Professionals Network” and you need to be under 35 to join.  I’m not under 35.  Hell, I’m not under 40.

Why do I bring up the delicate subject of age?  Someone asked me today why I didn’t start writing books earlier in life.  I had to really think about it…

I could give you the usual stuff about building my day job career, meeting my husband, falling in love, getting married, starting a family, renovating a house (which still isn’t done).  But that’s not really the reason.

I wasn’t ready.  I didn’t find my voice until the age of 40.  I’m happy for those that find it earlier.  It just didn’t work out that way for me.  I had to live a little bit more than others to be able to do this.  Well, maybe a lot more.  I’m kind of in awe of people who are twenty years younger who are writing books.  I just didn’t have a whole lot to say at that age.  Things that I think are incredibly small issues now would have been a big deal then.  I can only imagine my writing would have been as immature as I was.  My idea of a hero is vastly different than it was twenty years ago.

What do you think?  Has age made you a better writer?

6 thoughts on “On writing and getting older #sirenauthor

  1. Writing and getting older…I really like this topic. 🙂 In high school I wrote constantly. I had a journal and I would write short stories and poetry. I never thought I could be a writer. I didn’t think that I would make any money or that a publisher would like my work. Bella’s Rodeo was my first book and it took multiple people to push me into submitting it to Siren Publishing. When I received that acceptance email…I was shocked. Someone liked my writing. 🙂 I would’ve loved to start submitting years ago but it was the right time/right place for me to start when I did.

    Thanks for the great topic Lara…keep up the good work.

    • Thanks, Alicia. I’m glad you listened and submitted your work! I remember my acceptance email. I printed it off and carried it around with me for days, looking at it over and over.

  2. I’m in agreement with you that age has helped me to find my voice, or if nothing else the courage to reach for my dreams. I turned 30 in February, and realized that I hadn’t accomplished any of the goals that I set for myself back in high-school other than having children. So I stepped up to the edge of the cliff, and jumped. It’s liberating, and exhausting trying to follow my passion and continue my “other” life. 🙂 I don’t feel like I missed out on anything, because I don’t think that I would have appreciated reaching this goal back when I was 18 or 20.

  3. When I turn 40 next year I will have been writing seriously for 2-yrs, that’s it. I often think it is strange that I waited so long, but I’m totally with you. I cant imagine younger me writing like I do now. Heck, I think it was the nerves alone that stopped me from putting the words in my head onto paper. Not that I’m not nervous now, just more level headed<–that is most certainly a benefit of growing up 🙂

Leave a Reply

