A Warm Welcome To My Special Guest – Jan Graham! #sirenauthor

Please join me in welcoming my special guest – Siren Author Jan Graham!  She’s here to talk about her latest release Playing Jax.

 

This is part of a series. Are they any special challenges when writing for a series?

I find the most challenging thing about a series is keeping the continuity of the story across books flowing correctly. I don’t want to disappoint readers by having errors in the time or story line of the books, so I need to make sure there isn’t anything contradictory about characters from previous books in the current ones.

Tell us about your latest book?

My latest book is Playing Jax, the second in the Wylde Shore Series. It’s the Story of Steve Jax who was introduced to readers in Finding Angel. For those that have read the first book, Steve’s wife was diagnosed with a terminal illness toward the end of that book. This is the book that tells readers what happened to the lovable character and where he is now in relation to love and life.

Plotter or Pantser?

I usually start out with a basic plot of what I want to achieve and then part way through writing I become a pantser. I find that as the characters evolve the storyline takes on a life of its own and changes before my eyes.

What makes a great hero?

For me, a great hero is a dominant one with one or two flaws revealed along the way, an imperfect hero so to speak. He also has to have a good heart even if he finds it difficult to show it, know how to love those around him (especially the heroine of the books) and be an honorable man in the way he conducts himself throughout the story.

Do you have anything in common with your characters?

I think there is a little bit of me in a lot of the characters I write, even if it’s only my wicked sense of humor showing through at times.

Do you believe in love at first sight?

I never believed in it until I met my last love. When I first met him something inside me just said ‘yes, he’s for me.’ So yes, now I’m a believer.

Have there been any real-life love stories that have inspired you?

Not any that I’ve written down. I do admire people that have been together for years and years; they clearly have worked at making the relationship last over the long haul, when so many other couples seem to throw in the towel when the going gets tough.

Who are some of your favorite authors?

I really like reading paranormal romance so I’m a big fan of JR Ward, Christen Feehan, Jacquelyn Frank and Lora Leigh’s breed series.

Do you have any advice for aspiring writers trying to get published?

Keep persevering. If writing is something you love and you truly believe it’s the career for you then keep going with it. Don’t fall into a heap when you get your first rejection letter, refine you skills and keep going until you get published.

What is the hardest thing about being a writer?

Being self disciplined. Because I work from home there are lots of distractions and if I don’t have a contract deadline to keep me on track, which I usually don’t, then those distractions can lead to not writing.

What are you currently working on?

I’m currently writing the third book in the Wylde Shore Series. It’s called Switching Mercedes and anyone who reads Playing Jax will hopefully fall in love with her man, who’s introduced in Steve’s story.

What do you do when you’re not writing?

I read, hop on facebook, go out with friends for long lunches or shopping adventures.

How can your fans find you on the net?

I have a website and a blog as well as being on facebook and twitter. I love to hear from people that have read the books and fans can follow me through the blog or twitter or by liking my facebook page. The addresses are:

Website:    http://www.jangraham.com.au

Blog:           http://jangraham.blogspot.com.au/

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/JanGrahamAuthorpage

Twitter:     http://twitter.com/#!/jan_graham

Leave a Reply

