Welcome Siren Author of the Week – Lea Barrymire!

Pull up a chair, a pomegranate martini,  and a dark chocolate Godiva because Lea Barrymire is in the house talking about her latest release – Maggie’s Abduction.  Welcome Lea!

 

 

 

 

 
Tell us about your latest book?

Maggie’s Abduction releases today, April 19th. It is a sci-fi/ futuristic story about a human woman, who is kidnapped, and finds herself given to an alien as a plaything. She wakes tied to a warrior’s bed, naked, and warned to submit.

Blurb:  Maggie’s night couldn’t get much worse. She’d been dragged by her best friend to a bar to meet a blind date. Then, things do worsen when she’s drugged, and wakes to find herself on a ship as a sexual submissive to a massive, feline humanoid. After being stripped naked, and terrified, she wakes tied to a bed. Raharan, the golden-eyed alien, is a prisoner of war and is given Maggie as a distraction to keep him docile. She finds that being submissive to him opens her eyes to love and a side of herself she didn’t know she had. When more of his kind attack the ship to free their brethren Maggie is coveted by another. Will she be destined to act as the slave for another, or will Raharan find and save her in time?

Plotter or Pantser?

I am definitely a pantser. I tend to write out a loose overview of a book with plots and important points that I want to hit, but usually the characters scoff at my notes and take the book the way they want it to go.

What makes a great hero?

I love men who know their own worth, have alpha male characteristics, but are soft enough to love deeply. They can’t be perfect, because what man is, really. I like to see their faults, or weaknesses, as character building characteristics, though.

Do you have anything in common with your characters?

Seriously, they are all a little part of me. I really can connect with the female characters because they all have certain aspects I either enjoy about myself, or might like to have. All of my characters take on personalities while I work on their stories. Sometimes I find myself laughing at what they are saying as I type their words.

Do you believe in love at first sight?

I do. I knew at the ripe old age of 16 that my husband was the only man for me. He sat in English class in front of me on the first day of school. After seeing him in a wonderful pair of tight jeans I knew he was “it”. We laugh about it all the time that I knew that we would end up married long before I was old enough to have my driver’s license. After 17 years I would still say that I was completely right that day.

Have there been any real-life love stories that have inspired you?

My life is peppered with wonderful couples that are inspiring. None of them are model perfect people, but their lives are so full of love and laughter that they are definitely worthy of a romance novel.

Who are some of your favorite authors?

I would have answered this differently a year ago, but since my Kindle I have become a proud owner of lots of erotic romance. My absolute favorite authors now are Cherise Sinclair, Eve Langlais, Laurann Dorhner, JR Ward, Karen Moning, and Jeaniene Frost

Do you have any advice for aspiring writers trying to get published?

Just write what inspires you, and believe in your story. Find friends that can be honest with you to read your stories, and know that it make take a while to get published.

What is the hardest thing about being a writer?

Right now writing for me is fun and there is no pressure. I have so many ideas rattling around in my head that I can’t imagine running through them all. I guess not having enough time to write would be the only difficult thing for me. When the characters are clattering loudly and I’m in the middle of driving my kids around, it can be frustrating.


What are you currently working on?

Currently I’m working on the second book in my Willie Krenshaw series. The first book, Half in Love, releases May 29th from Siren Bookstrand. The series contains many vampire and shifter characters. Some are yummy, some are not. The second book, Half Insane, takes Willie’s friends on a roller coaster ride of loving, fighting and kidnapping. They are some of my favorite characters to work with because they are just so quirky.

What do you do when you’re not writing?

I work from home as an educational consultant, homeschool my middle school daughter, ferry three children around to all kinds of things, and well, try to stay sane.

How can you fans find you on the net?
Email: leabarrymire@gmail.com
Blog: leabarrymire.blogspot.com/
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100003345606320
Twitter: @leabarrymire

Thank you so much, Lara, for having me on your blog. It’s such a big day, with it being the release of my debut book.

Thanks for joining us today, Lea.  Good luck on your new release!

3 thoughts on “Welcome Siren Author of the Week – Lea Barrymire!

Leave a Reply

