My Siren Author of the Week – Marie Jermy!

Our Siren Author of the Week is Marie Jermy!  Marie,  join me for a cocktail and some Godiva’s and tell me about your latest release.

This is part of a series. Are they any special challenges when writing for a series?

Keeping each story fresh and original from the preceding one.

Tell us about your latest book?

Animal Instincts is the 2nd in the Anderson series and tells the story of vets Ramona Anderson and Rex Latimer. Ramona has been hurt in the past and is the non-doer of romance, whereas Rex is still a romantic at heart despite going to hell and back with a messy divorce. Both agree they do not want a relationship. However, when these two meet, it’s hard for them to deny the red-hot chemistry between them. But while Reggie the snake makes them, will Rex’s ex-wife break them?

Plotter or Pantser?

A bit of both really. The plot for Secret Eyes was one of those weird “what if?” moments that hit me while I was stilling working for the police. I recently had a friend and work colleague tell me that after reading Secret Eyes, the first thing she thought of when booking into her hotel was whether the room had hidden cameras!

What makes a great hero?

Looks alone are definitely not enough. A good heart, integrity, and knowing when to admit they’re in the wrong are good qualities.

Do you have anything in common with your characters?

I’ve been told (from my mother-in-law, no less) that I have sarcasm down to a fine art. I like to add a little bit of my sarcasm into my characters.

Do you believe in love at first sight?

Definitely.

Have there been any real-life love stories that have inspired you?  

Yeah, my own.  Back in September 1992 and at the tender age of 20, I was dumped by my boyfriend of 2 years. After about a month of self-pity and red-rimmed eyes, my late father had had enough and told me to put a lonely hearts ad in the paper! With nothing to lose, I followed his advice and placed a personal ad in the Partners section of the local newspaper. I received 22 replies and out of those I picked one of no more than five lines long. Though short, it was written with a kind of hopefulness, but my father told me not to bother with this man because he lived on the same road as another who had replied.  My dad said they were probably in on it together! On this occasion, however, I chose not to follow my dad’s advice. And I’m so glad because Richard, the man who I’d chosen out of my bundle of replies, was to become my best friend, soul mate and husband and the wonderful father to our 3 children.

Who are some of your favorite authors?

What, apart from myself? No, really. Romance writer Rhonda Nelson, adventure writer Clive Cussler and more recently the crime writer Chris Carter.

Do you have any advice for aspiring writers trying to get published?

A cliché I know, but never give up. Also, do your research. Read as many books in the genre you want to write for, find out what publishers want and then put your own twist on things. That’s what I did with the old cliché of bumping into somebody and showering them with coffee. In Secret Eyes, Scott Rafferty bumped into and showered Leia Howard with his Starbucks. But my twist was that Leia was blind. She had no idea what was going to happen, but Scott did, and afterwards he felt such a dork for not looking where he was going.

What is the hardest thing about being a writer?

In my case, with three young children, it’s finding the time. I’m also prone to writer’s block. For days on end I write absolutely nothing, and then all of a sudden, and when I’m doing something else entirely (the last occasion I was changing my son’s nappy!) an idea hits me and everything falls into place.

What are you currently working on?

Lust in the First Degree, the fourth and final part of the Anderson series. Body Rocks, the third installment is already finished and I intend to submit this to Siren in the very near future.

Did you always want to be a writer?

The short answer to that is no. While at Secondary School, I had an interest with sharks, and thought I’d like a career in oceanography. I studied the three sciences – biology, chemistry and physics (as is basic requirement), but soon found that physics didn’t make any sense to me whatsoever. A very large nail in the oceanographer’s coffin as such. The fact I’m not a very good swimmer nailed the coffin shut. After leaving school with a clutch of GCSE’s, most notably typing, I was employed as a receptionist for a year before I applied for a typing job with the Norfolk Constabulary, the local police force. I worked with the police for eighteen years. Ten of those years, I typed crime files for every offence under the sun, the other eight as a tape summarizer, listening to and summarizing interview tapes of offenders, and I can honestly say I enjoyed every single minute. My job was both unique and interesting with never a dull moment, and certainly a job that required an extremely broad mind and a sense of humor.

How can your fans find you on the net?

I’m on Facebook, Twitter, Goodreads, Manic Readers, and have my own blog spot at www.mariejermy.blogspot.com

About Marie Jermy…

I was born on August 1, 1972, which makes me a Leo. So am I a lioness? Yes, although I only show my claws when provoked. I am married to Richard and have three children, collectively and affectionately known as “The A-Team”, so called because their first names start with an “A.” I would consider myself to be quite crafty, a trait inherited from my late father, and clever (well, I like to think so!). I also have a sarcastic, sometimes dirty sense of humor, and because of my time employed by the police, I am completely unshockable. When I’m not writing or looking after the kids, I can be found with my nose stuck between the pages of a romance novel or a book about the Titanic.

Leave a Reply

