Welcome author Lydia Michaels

Today we welcome Lydia Michaels to Martinis, Chocolate, and Kisses!  Lydia has a brand-new release today!  Welcome Lydia, pour yourself a cocktail and help yourself to the Godiva’s.

Calling for a Miracle is part of a series. Are they any special challenges when writing for a series?

I think the most difficult challenge when writing a series is keeping the facts straight.  I often have trouble recalling eye color or the exact age of an immortal.  Luckily, when I began writing The Order of Vampyres, I knew it was going to be exploding with eclectic characters.  My office is covered with facts regarding The Order.  I have a three foot family tree showing all 72 characters from the nine families that make up The Order.  This is a huge help when it comes to mating.  The last thing I want to do is accidentally call an immortal to their great aunt.  I also keep an index card on each character listing their features, date of birth, and any special talents. An entire wall of my office is painted with dry erase paint.  This is where I sketch out my time lines to make sure no details are missed.  I am very detail oriented and I take pride in overlapping my stories with frequent surprises and twists.  I like a series that really connects and progresses, each book a necessary part of the whole. All of these tools help me keep my stories evolving and help get me through the common challenges an author faces when writing an intricate series.

Here’s the story:

Isolated in the quiet hills of Pennsylvania is an Amish order unlike any other—they are vampyre.

 After fleeing her oppressive marriage, Larissa Hartzler will give herself to no man, but Bishop Eleazar King has other plans. Eleazar is appalled when he discovers the always dutiful Larissa working in an English house of sin.   

As the most respected immortal of The Order, Eleazar has always maintained unwavering control, but everything changes once he is called.  His long standing position of authority is threatened when his need for his mate takes hold. There is nothing that will keep him from possessing the virginal Larissa as his mate.  Not even her husband. Larissa’s fear of being found by Bishop King transforms into confusion when she learns he is her mate.  Five times his minor and broken on so many emotional levels, Larissa knows she will be an inadequate mate for Eleazar. With gentle patience he begins to teach her what her husband never did, and slowly awakens Larissa’s desires.

  

Plotter or Pantser?

I am definitely a plotter by intension, but there is a pantser in all of us that sometimes tends to take over no matter how organized we are. My pantser side usually shows up around the 75% mark and then all hell breaks loose.

What makes a great hero?

Honor.  While I love my alpha males, I have learned there is nothing sexier than a male of honor.  Even those politically incorrect males we all tend to adore; we cannot empathize with them if they are without a smidge of honor. So I try to keep my heroes honorable and a little bossy.  Confidence is always a plus, too.

Do you have anything in common with your characters?

I suppose all of my characters have some part of me in them.  When I leave my fingerprints on their personalities I don’t really realize I am doing so until a friend of mine laughs and points out that a certain trait is such a “Lydia trait”.

Do you believe in love at first sight?

No, but I do believe in destiny.  I knew my husband all of my life.  We hated each other as children, yet for some reason began dating when I was 16.  We are celebrating our 15th anniversary this May and I have no doubt he is who I was destined to share my life with.

Have there been any real-life love stories that have inspired you?

Yes.  My husband, when we were teenagers, once made a starlight picnic for me in his mother’s back yard. The yard was infested with slugs.  He built a brick barricade around the table in the shape of a heart and lined the heart with salt. Slugs won’t touch salt.  Imperfect, comical moments like this, based on thoughtfulness, are the kinds of love stories we find in real life.  These kinds of moments inspire me more so than any flawless romantic fiction ever could. Life is untidy.  Real love is an absolute mess at times.

Who are some of your favorite authors?

Lori Foster, Virginia Henley, Allyson Young, JR Ward, Lorelei James, Maya Banks, Lauren Dane…to name a few.  I have many more.

Do you have any advice for aspiring writers trying to get published?

Yes, never give up! Manuscripts are like houses.  They are never completely finished and never perfect.  That’s why there are publishers.  Publishing a book is the only way to stop an author from obsessing over every word. So until you find the right publisher for your work—improve, improve, improve! And eventually the right publisher will notice you.

What is the hardest thing about being a writer?

All things that are not part of the creative process (editing, promoting, submitting, querying, etc.)

What are you currently working on?

Currently, I am writing Destiny Calls, the third book in The Order of Vampyres. I have recently finished an Irish romance called Sacred Waters and I am also writing an erotic romance titled Breaking Perfect, which has a heat level far beyond anything I have ever written before.  All of my published works can be found on my website at www.LydiaMichaels.org and are available through Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Kobo, Bookstrand, and other major retailers.   My most recent release is Calling for a Miracle {Book 2} of The Order of Vampyres (March 29, 2012).

 How can your fans find you on the net?

I am on

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Lydia-Michaels/212130595513597

Twitter: https://twitter.com/#!/Lydia_Michaels

Tumblr: http://lydiamichaels.tumblr.com/

Youtube: http://www.youtube.com/user/lydiamichaels2011?feature=mhee

And you can always visit my webpage at www.LydiaMichaels.org

Thanks for joining us today!  We hope your book is a great success!

About the author:

Lydia Michaels is an author of paranormal and contemporary erotic romance. She lives in Pennsylvania with her wonderfully supportive husband, beautiful daughter, and her two ridiculously spoiled dogs. After graduating college, Lydia married her childhood sweetheart and best friend then became a mother and quickly discovered her love for literature. The only hobby she enjoys more than reading exciting romance novels is writing them! If she is not off spending time with her family you can usually find Lydia at her computer working on her next story or hiding somewhere quiet with a great book. She loves taking a romantic plot with steamy chemistry and pushing the characters through an evolution of emotion by creating real life challenges any hero or heroine worth their salt could overcome. She presses the bounds of love and surprises readers just when they think they have her stories figured out. Her books are intellectual, erotic, haunting, always centered on love. For more information please visit www.LydiaMichaels.org

Leave a Reply

