Are you exhausted? I am.

Are you exhausted?  I sure am.  You know why?  No one warned me.

No one warned me when I started this writing gig that it would become basically a full-time job.  I already had two of those by the way.  I have a demanding day job and I’m the mother of an 8-year-old.  So I guess I would have been exhausted anyway…

I started writing as an escape.  It was fun and cheaper than therapy.  And yes, my dream was to become a published author.  Now, less than a year later, I have accomplished my goal.  My first book will be released in mere days.  It’s finally here.  But when I started this I had no idea just how much work it would be.  Writing, editing, proof-reading, promotion.  Oh, and writing the next book, too.

I was fulfilling a lifelong dream of becoming an author.  But like many dreams it was fluffy and blurred around the edges.  Some naive part of me didn’t realize that I would want the dream to continue.  I wasn’t just going to say “Well, that was fun.  Next dream, please!”  Dreams are real work.  Real work makes you tired.  But it’s the good kind of tired.  The kind of tired when you have really accomplished something.

The realization of the dream, by the way, is awesome.  I feel so humbled that anyone would want to buy anything that I have written.  If you are one of those that has pre-ordered my book – THANK YOU.  If you regularly stop by my blog – THANK YOU.  If you reply to my tweets, write on my wall, or re-pin a pic – THANK YOU.

I have met so many wonderful people as I pursued this dream – THANK YOU.  I couldn’t have done this without the support that I have found in the writing community.

I’m going to rest for a few minutes.  Then I’m getting back to work.

4 thoughts on “Are you exhausted? I am.

  1. It’s the best kind of exhaustion. I love it.

    congrats on your book being published. I wil post a link in my blog mash up next week. 🙂

  2. Lara,

    So what have you “given up” with this additional busy schedule? I’ve also got kids, and work and now write. Promoting one while writing the next can be tough. For me, I don’t think I’m reading as much.

    Grats on reaching that dream.

    Louisa

    • Thank you! I’ve given up some sleep and I don’t watch much television. I do read less, but I find reading inspires me to write so I try to make time for it. My wonderful hubby has really stepped in and taken over a lot of the tasks around the house.
      I think for me the biggest thing I have given up is relaxation. I don’t have much time to just veg. I’m always doing something “Work” related. But I think the trade-off is worth it. So far, anyway! LOL
      Thanks for stopping by my blog!

Leave a Reply

