Setting Goals

I guess the beginning of the year is the time to talk about setting goals.  (I won’t use the word “resolution” because I think if you want to do something, you should just damn well do it and not wait until January 1st.)

So what are my goals in 2012?

  • Complete and submit three books.   That’s two more than I did in 2011.
  • Write a blog entry weekly.
  • Write at least 500 words each weeknight and 1500 words a day on the weekends.  (That darn day job gets in the way sometimes)
  • Try to enjoy my first book being released.  Don’t obsess about sales numbers, twitter followers, and building a backlist.  Just enjoy it.
  • Network more with other writers.  Help and support each other.
  • Become a better writer by actually taking time to work on the craft of writing.
  • Keep reading writers I respect.

I’ll update you in my progress in a few months.  What are your goals for 2012?

Leave a Reply

